Alaska Department of Administration, Divison of Motor Vehicles
Administration >  Motor Vehicles >  Registration Renewal                                                 

Online Registration Renewal

-- Instructions --


Refer to your renewal notice , for the registration renewal number (RRN).

At right, type your RRN, then VERIFY.

If you do not have your renewal notice:
  1. Enter the license plate or boat number, AND
  2. The last two digits of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or Hull Identification Number (HIN).
  3. VERIFY.


Indicate by clicking the checkbox on the right that the mailing address for this vehicle is correct, or that you have already updated it. If it is not correct, please click here to do so before renewing your registration.

Alaska law requires the owner or operator of a motor vehicle operated on the roadways to have liability insurance in the amount of not less than $50,000/$100,000 for bodily injury or death and $25,000 for property damage.

ATV's, boats trailers and snow machines do not require insurance.

You must select the appropriate insurance requirement option at right before you can continue.

Vehicle Identification Entry Form



Owner Information and Fees Due

 Insurance Requirements Options 
I have insurance meeting the requirements for this vehicle.
I am renewing a registration for an ATV, boat, trailer or snow machine.

If the mailing address shown below is not correct, please update your address before renewing your registration.

Check this box once you have verified your mailing address.
Also, for security reasons, tabs will not be forwarded if you have a forwarding address on file at the postal service. If tabs are returned to the DMV, you will be charged an additional $5 for a new tab.

I verify that I do not qualify for permanent exemptions or senior exemptions. These exemptions have to be done in person and I understand that refunds will not be given.


Please review the Owner Information and Fees Due for accuracy. (Note: Your name is not displayed on this page for security reasons.)

Your new registration card/tab will be mailed to the address listed. If the information is correct, click NEXT.

If the Owner Information is incorrect, click CANCEL and see our web site under Registration Renewal Information for further instructions.

? Click here if you have questions about Alaska vehicle registration requirements.