The registration and tab will be mailed within two business days of successful renewal.
If you do not receive your registration within 14 days, please email DMV with your plate
number for followup.
Please read the following information before starting the renewal process:
The address must be correct. Click
here to update.
If your vehicle requires an emissions test, it must pass the test before you can
Check the Renewal Notice to assure you still own the property.
DMV accepts Visa, MasterCard, or Discover cards only.
Please look at your
renewal notice. Find the RRN printed in the upper left corner; lower right
corner on boat renewals.
On the entry form at right, type this number in the box labeled RRN, then
If you do not have your renewal notice:
Enter the license plate or boat AK number, AND
The last two digits of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) or Hull ID Number
Alaska law requires the owner or operator of a motor vehicle operated on the roadways
to have liability insurance in the amount of not less than $50,000/$100,000 for
bodily injury or death and $25,000 for property damage.
ATV's, boats trailers and snow machines do not require insurance.
You must select the appropriate insurance requirement option at right before you
In addition, indicate by clicking the checkbox that the address for this vehicle
is correct or that you have already updated it. If it is not correct, please click
to do so before renewing your registration.
if you have questions about Alaska vehicle registration requirements.
Division of Motor Vehicles
1300 W. Benson Boulevard, Anchorage, AK 99503-3696
General Information:- Telephone: Anchorage area: 269-5551
Toll Free inside Alaska: 1-855-269-5551
Outside of Alaska: 1-907-269-5551